Roll Of Honour

The extraordinary commitment of our volunteers should be acknowledged and rewarded whenever possible. There have been some impressive awards to members of the South East Region over the years.

Tora Bray Perpetual Trophy

2017 Winner

Lesley Morrill
Lesley Morrill

Lesley Morrill served as East Sussex County Coach for nearly 20 years and continues in her role as Chair of Hope in the Valley Group.  Lesley is the group's senior coach and instrumental to the group's weekly running.  Hope in the Valley competes regularly at the RDA National Championships at Hartpury and Lesley also organises and attends the annual holiday for Hope in the Valley participants at Clwyd Special Riding Centre.  As part of the regional team, Lesley helped to organise and deliver training and support to groups in the south east region whilst working full time as a Librarian.

Photo: Lesley Morrill


Past Winners

Past Winners of Tora Bray Perpetual Trophy
Year Name Group  
2016 Gilly Roper Bradbourne RDA Regional Coach  
2015 Liz Major Heron's Ghyll RDA  
2014 Julie Courtney Bradbourne RDA  
2013 Sally Pointing Chichester RDA  
2012 Judi Singer Regional Chair -
2011 A J (Jeanette) Crane Kingley Vale -
2010 B Harrison Ashford Valley -
2009 R M Nailard Mid Sussex -
2008 Catherine McCully Cobbes Meadow -
2007 Gilly Bishop Burstow Park -
2006 Keith Edwards Ashford Valley -
2005 K Palmer & G Palmer – Founders Rocking Horse -
2004 Pat Breakell Cranleigh -
2003 Jean Musson Court Meadow -
2002 Peter Felgate Bradbourne and Regional Instructor -
2001 A Desmond Pelly Mid Sussex -
2000 C M Rycroft Court Meadow -
1999 Ann Sheldrake Founder of Happy Landings -
1998 Sheila Blair Hope in the Valley -
1997 Sally Raw Old Park and Surrey County Instructor -

The President’s Awards

Sally Pointing
Sally Pointing

Our President, Her Royal Highness, The Princess Royal, Princess Anne is a great supporter of RDA, championing our work as a national charity and visiting our groups as often as she can. Each year she presents a select group of volunteers across the country with the coveted President's Award. The President’s Award is the most prestigious volunteer award within RDA and is awarded for service of an exceptional nature over a period of not less than 30 years.

2017 Winners

Judi Singer, Regional Chair and RDA Trustee, Surrey

Past Winners

Past Winners of Tora Bray Perpetual Trophy
Year Name Group County
2016 Carol Rycroft Court Meadow RDA RDA East Sussex
2016 Rosemary Harrison Cranleigh RDA Surrey
2015 Verity Jones Godstone RDA East Sussex
2015 Fiona Wright South Downs RDA East Sussex
2014 Jean Musson Court Meadow RDA East Sussex
2013 Carol McClean Hope in the Valley RDA East Sussex
2013 Judi Ralls Stella Hancock Driving RDA Surrey
2013 Carol Porter Happy Landings RDA West Sussex
2012 Judy Case Mid Sussex Group East Sussex
2012 Janie Lawson Gennetts Farm West Sussex
2012 Sally Yonge Mid Sussex Group East Sussex
2010 Gilly Roper Bradbourne Kent
2010 Pat Breakell Cranleigh Sussex

You might also be interested in...


Keep up with all the latest news and announcements from across the RDA South East region.


Find out about the medically recognised therapeutic benefits of working with horses.

Regional Vet

Learn about the RDA South East regional vet and the great work they do for the health of our horses.